Roman Catholic Diocese of Prince Albert OFFICE OF THE BISHOP



Diocèse Catholique Romain de Prince Albert BUREAU DE L'EVEQUE

December 17, 2024

To All the Faithful of the Diocese of Prince Albert,

The following is information regarding updates to the appointments for clergy, consultors, deans, and senate members for the 2024-2025 pastoral year, as well as diocesan pastoral centre announcements.

CLERGY

Deanery 1

- Fr. Michael Fahlman is serving as Provincial Chaplain for Jesus Youth Saskatchewan, effective August 6, 2024. He will continue to serve as part-time Pastor of St. Mary in Christopher Lake, St. Joseph in Elkridge/Waskesiu (summer) and full-time as Chancellor, Moderator of the Curia, and Marriage Preparation Coordinator for Prince Albert and area.
- Fr. DJ Vu will serve as Pastor of St. Mark in Prince Albert and celebrate Mass once a month at River Breeze Retirement Complex, Carment Court, Good Shepherd Villas, and serve as Chaplain of St. John Community School, effective December 29, 2024. He will continue to serve as part-time Director of Chaplaincy for Mont St. Joseph Home.
- Fr. Tuyen Vu will serve as Pastor of St. James in Albertville and the Mission of St. James in Candle Lake, effective December 29, 2024. He will continue to serve as part-time Chaplain to Rose Garden Hospice in Prince Albert, assist the Chaplain of the Victoria Hospital in Prince Albert as needed, including days off and vacation time. In particular, he will assist on Wednesdays and Fridays at the Hospital, and twice a month on Wednesdays at Herb Basset Home. Also, he will continue to assist the Chaplain of The Sisters of the Presentation of Mary at the 3101 Infirmary in Prince Albert 3 days a week, including vacation time. In particular, he will assist with Mass on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays.

Deanery 2

• Fr. Kendrick Beler is serving as Chaplain of the Diocesan Pro-Life Council, effective June 2023. He will continue to serve as Pastor of St. Eugene in Nipawin, St. Mary in Choiceland and provide monthly ministry at Cumberland House in the Archdiocese of Keewatin-Le-Pas.

Deanery 5

• Fr. Tai Le is serving as the Diocesan Catholic Women's League (CWL) Spiritual Advisor, effective October 10, 2024. He will continue as Pastor of St. Joseph Calasanctius in North Battleford, Chaplain of Holy Family School and École Monseigneur Blaise Morand, and minister to River Heights Lodge and Master of Ceremonies for the Diocese.

• Fr. Greg Elder is available for replacement ministry on Sundays. He will continue to serve as fulltime Chaplain of the Light of Christ Catholic School Division and Chaplain of John Paull II Collegiate.

Deanery 6

• Fr. Uche Gabriel Umechikelu, MSP previously administrator Our Lady of Peace in Meadow Lake, St. Jude in Green Lake, and Our Lady of the Smile in Waterhen, is now serving as Pastor, effective October 10, 2024.

Other

- **Fr. Cuong Luong** has been incardinated into the Clergy of the Diocese of Calgary, effective November 21, 2024.
- Dcn. William Thibeault has relocated for work temporarily to the Archdiocese of Regina.

DEANS

This fall, the priests of Deanery 1 met to procure recommendations for term ending positions. The following is an updated list of all deans, which includes the priests who have been approved for a three-year renewable term. The deans fulfill their appointments to the end of their three-year renewable term or until their pastoral appointment necessitates a change.

<u>Deanery 1</u>: Fr. Jim Kaptein (Sept 2024 – 2027) (Sept 2021-2024)

Deanery 2: Fr. George Canto (Sept 2022 – 2025)

Deanery 3: Fr. Matthew Nguyen (Sept 2022 – 2025)

Deanery 4: Fr. Ramel Macapala (Sept 2022 – 2025)

Deanery 5: Fr. Barry Tkachuk (Sept 2023 - 2026)

<u>Deanery 6:</u> Fr. Peter Paase, MSP (Sept 2022 – 2025) (Aug 2019-2022)

SENATE

The Bishop's Senate includes the six deans of the Diocese, ex officio members, consultors, moderator, and appointed members. All positions and terms are determined by the Ordinary.

Ex officio: Fr. Maurice Fiolleau, Vicar General (2010 VG) (2008 C)

Ex officio: Fr. Michael Fahlman, Chancellor (2020 CH) (Sept 2017 D)

Moderator: Fr. Jim Kaptein (2010 M) (2008 C)

Deans 1-6: As above

Appointee: Fr. Kendrick Beler (September 2021-2026 C)

Appointee: Fr. Alberto Dela Pena (October 2023-2026 C)

Appointee: Fr Sebastian Kunnath (October 2023 – 2027 C)

Appointee: Fr. Tru Le (October 2024-2029 C)

COLLEGE OF CONSULTORS

Vicar General: Very Rev. Maurice Fiolleau (2021) (2008)

Chancellor: Fr. Michael Fahlman (2022) (2017)

Consultor: **Fr. Sebastian Kunnath** (2022) (2017) Consultor: **Fr. Peter Paase, MSP** (2022) (2017)

Consultor: **Fr. Kendrick Beler** (2021) Consultor: **Fr. Alberto Dela Pena** (2021)

Consultor: Fr. Tru Le (2024)

DIOCESAN PASTORAL CENTRE ANNOUNCEMENTS

- **Heidi Epp** previously Coordinator for the Office of Liturgy is now Director. She is also the new Director of Ecumenism, effective November 2024. Combined, these positions are part-time.
- Fr. Michael Fahlman has returned as the Office & Programs Manager, effective September 2024.
- Louis Hradecki has resumed as part-time Assistant Office & Programs Manager, September 2024.
- **Neha Joseph** is the new Director of the Office of Youth and Young Adult Ministry, effective December 2024.
- **Dcn. Rick Lucas** has been employed as Coordinator of the new Office of Indigenous Ministry and as Director of the Permanent Diaconate Program, effective September 2024. Combined, these positions are part-time.

Let us pray for each other.

Sincerely in Christ,

₩ Most Rev. Stephen A. Hero

+ Stephen a Hero

Bishop of Prince Albert